The Laughing Kookaburra   8 comments

The Laughing Kookaburra is the largest of the kingfisher family, but unlike most of its relatives, it is not particularly active and it lives in the same territory year round.

Here in Tin Can Bay it is nearly a daily occurrence to hear a chorus of Kookaburras whether it be in the morning or late in the afternoon and it never fails to bring a smile to my face.

According to an Aboriginal legend, the kookaburra’s famous chorus of laughter every morning is a signal for the sky people to light the great fire that illuminates and warms the earth by day.

Often over the summer I would find kookaburras sitting on the pool fence and on two occasions I had 3 kookaburras, one after the other, taking repeated dips in our swimming pool.

IMG_2228

IMG_2231

IMG_2235

IMG_2240

IMG_2245

IMG_2248

IMG_2251

IMG_2255

IMG_2270

IMG_2291

IMG_2299

8 responses to “The Laughing Kookaburra

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pretty bird! Nice little portraits. So that reminds me, is your lizard still around?

    Like

    • Yes Bluey is still around but I never know where he is going to show up next. For a week he was in our enormous shed where we keep the boat, the bikes the tools and everything we have no place in the house for and then the week after, he was back sunbathing near the back deck. That particular day, he was very slow so my guess is he was very cold. June the 1st marks the day that Winter has arrived in Australia and it has definitely hit and with it has come a rain depression. I doubt I will see Bluey for a while but I know he is here somewhere. And whenever I do see him, he is happy for me to leave some fruit out for him and he always eats it. Maybe by September he might be coming out of hiding.

      Like

  2. Wonderful pictures. , The kookaburras are pretty unique birds.having then take a dip in the pool is so special. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Wauw, I guess I like all Kingfishers so also this one. Great how you could capture this one so close. Sharp as a knife. A bit jealous …..

    Like

Leave a comment